Full account of Muhammed Omer’s hair-raising encounter with Shin Beth

01/07/2008

From Khalid Amayreh in the occupied Palestinian Territories

From his hospital bed at the European Hospital in Gaza and
with barely audible voice, award-winning Palestinian
journalist Muhammed Omer has given a full account of the
hair-raising encounter he had last week with Shin Beth
agents at the Allenby Bridge border-crossing between Jordan
and the West Bank.

Omer, a co-winner of the 2008 Martha Gelhorn Prize for
Journalistic Excellence, said he was abused, assaulted ,
humiliated, ridiculed, kicked, and strip-searched at
gunpoint by undisciplined Shin Beth officers until he had a
nervous breakdown in which case he lost consciousness for
at least 90 minutes.

A resident of Rafah at the southern edge of the Gaza Strip,
Omer said he didn’t know for sure why the Shin Beth people
treated him in such a barbaric matter apart from the
characteristic sadism and savagery routinely meted out to
Palestinians.

“They behaved with unimaginable hatefulness and
vindictiveness. They couldn’t accept the very idea of a
Palestinian journalist winning a renowned journalism prize.
They wanted to punish me for being a successful journalist
and especially for exposing Israeli barbarianism to the
people of Europe.”

The following is Muhammed Omer’s story as intimated by him
to this writer:

“On Thursday, 26 June, the Israeli authorities finally
allowed me to return to Gaza after several days of waiting
and uncertainty in Jordan. When I arrived at the Allenby
Bridge Border Crossing, I was dragged away rather
unceremoniously to a special room where I was made to wait
for more than 90 minutes. This happened as Dutch diplomats
who were accompanying me were waiting outside.

“When I arrived on the Israeli side of the Allenby Bridge,
I encountered an Israeli female officer who started mocking
me in a brazenly insulting manner.

“She asked me repeatedly where Gaza was. She then said I
had no permit to return to Gaza via Israel.

“Then a Shin Beth officer who introduced himself as “Avi”
showed up and took me to an isolated room where I was kept
stranded for an hour and a half.

“He asked me “Oh, You are Muhammed Omer.

“Yes, I said.

“You know you are a fool,” said Avi, adding “how could you
leave Europe and return to Gaza where there is no water, no
electricity, nothing.

“I told him Gaza was my country, and I was a journalist and
wanted to be a voice for the voiceless.

“A voice for the voiceless,” Avi spoke sarcastically.

“He then asked me if I was carrying any contrabands or guns
or knives.

“I said no, I had none.

“Then he asked me to produce the money of the prize I won.
I told him that the money would be transferred later to my
bank account.”

“Then one Shin Beth agent demanded in a stern tone that I
hand all the money I was carrying with me over to them.
They didn’t believe I didn’t have the prize money with me.

“Disappointed, Avi, who was carrying a pistol in his hand,
ordered me to take off all my clothes, which I did, leaving
my underwear. At the same time, another officer was
pointing an M-16 rifle in my face.

“Take the underwear as well,” he said. “I told him I
wouldn’t. What do you want from me,” I protested in a
suffocated voice.

“Then he ganged up on me and forcibly removed my underwear
piece, leaving me completely naked.”

“Avi, training the pistol at me, told me to turn right and
turn left, before telling me to get dressed again.

“At that point, I was nearly totally broken emotionally. I
felt I was being raped. I cried and pleaded to them to
leave me alone, but to no avail”

“Telling me I haven’t seen anything yet, they dragged me to
another room where they interrogated me on my speaking tour
in Britain, Sweden and Greece.

“Oh, you have not left a place in Europe without speaking
at…You know these Europeans, they hate Israel.

“Then another Shin Bet officer began kicking me and pushing
me. This lasted for more than ten minutes after which I
fainted and lost consciousness. Eventually they began
dragging me along the floor by my feet with my head banging
on the floor.

“I don’t remember much of what happened to me during this
period, but remember a Shin Beth officer piercing his
finger right below my eyes and at the lower end of ears.
Also, another Shin Beth officer was pressing his large
boots against my neck as I was lying unconscious on the
ground.

“I thought I was dying. I remained in a state of
unconsciousness for up to 90 minutes until a medical
doctor, who was carrying an M-16, performed an
(electro-cardiogram) or ECG on me.

“Then I heard someone saying the word ‘ambulance.’

“However, before a Palestinian ambulance from Jericho
arrived, a Shin Beth officer came to me and asked me to
sign a form that I was not being maltreated by the Shin
Beth.

“I was too distraught, too confused and too unconscious to
say anything.

“Eventually, I was taken to the Jericho hospital where I
was assured by doctors that I was fine.”

Muhammed Omer said the Israeli Shin Beth inserted a special
electronic device into his mobile phone which would enable
them to know his whereabouts.

He also called upon his colleagues around the world to
condemn in the strongest words the “criminal and
disgraceful Israeli behavior” which he said “only befits
criminals and thugs, not states, let a lone states that
claim to be civilized, western and democratic.”

The Dutch Foreign Ministry has protested the traumatic
treatment meted out to Muhammed Omer and demanded and
explanation.

Similarly, the Dutch Embassy in Israel reportedly has
raised the issue with the Israeli Foreign Ministry.

The Shin Beth, Israel’s chief domestic security agency,
controls all aspects of Palestinian lives and is widely
believed to systematically and grossly violate the basic
human rights of Palestinians.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Full account of Muhammed Omer’s hair-raising encounter with Shin Beth

  1. Piotr Chmielarz

    Translation on polish language article about Mohammed Omer

    „Pełne świadectwo budzącego grozę spotkania Muhammeda Omera z Szin Bet”
    Chaled Amajreh z okupowanych terytoriów palestyńskich.
    Z swojego łóżka w europejskim szpitalu w Gazie z trudem mówiąc laureat nagrody im. Marty Gelhorn za dokonania dziennikarskie palestyński dziennikarz Muhammed Omar opowiada o swoim budzącym grozę spotkania w ubiegłym tygodniu z agentami Szin Bet na przejściu granicznym na moście Allenbego pomiędzy Jordanią a Zachodnim Brzegiem.
    Omer jeden z zwycięzców Nagrody im. Marty Gelhorn za dokonania dziennikarskie powiedział, że on został pobity zmaltretowany ośmieszony i skopany i poddany rewizji osobistej rewizji osobistej przez niezdyscyplinowanych oficerów Szin Bet aż do chwili gdy doznał załamania nerwów i stracił przytomność na co najmniej 90 minut.
    Mieszkaniec Rafah na południowym skraju Strefy Gazy Omer powiedział, że on nie wie dlaczego agenci Szin Bet potraktowali go z takim barbarzyńskim sadyzmem z jakim zwykle spotykają się Palestyńczycy.
    „Oni zachowywali się z taką nienawiścią i mściwością jaką trudno sobie wyobrazić. Oni nie mogli zaakceptować, że palestyński dziennikarz mógł zdobyć znaną nagrodę dziennikarską. Oni chcieli ukarać mnie za moje sukcesy w pracy i szczególnie za to, że ujawniam izraelskie barbarzyństwo wobec narodów Europy”
    Poniżej jest zamieszczona relacja Muhammeda Omera przekazana autorowi tego blogu.
    „26 czerwca w czwartek władze izraelskie w końcu pozwoliły mi wrócić do Gazt po kilkunastu dniach czekania i niepewności w Jordanii. Kiedy przyjechałem na przejście graniczne przy moście Allenbego zostałem bezceremonialnie zawleczony do specjalnego pomieszczenia, gdzie czekałem przez ponad 90 minut. To miało miejsce, gdy holenderscy dyplomaci, którzy mi towarzyszyli czekali na zewnątrz.
    Kiedy znalazłem się po izraelskiej stronie mostu Allenby napotkałem celniczkę izraelską która zaczęła kpić ze mnie w szczególnie zuchwały obraźliwy sposób.
    Ona zadawała mi ciągle pytanie gdzie jest Gaza. Wtedy ona powiedziała, że nie mam pozwolenia na powrót do Gazy przez Izrael.
    „Wtedy pojawił się oficer Szin Bet, który przedstawił się jako „Avi” i zabrał mnie do izolowanego pokoju, gdzie byłem przetrzymywany przez 1,5 godziny”
    On zapytał się mnie „To ty jesteś ten sławny Muhammed Omar”
    Tak odpowiedziałem
    Wiesz jesteś głupcem -powiedział Avi dodając- jak mogłeś opuścić Europę i wracać do Gazy gdzie nie ma wody, prądu niczego.
    Gaza jest moją ojczyzną, jestem dziennikarzem i chcę być głosem tych, których pozbawiono głosu- odpowiedziałem mu.
    „Głos tych, których pozbawiono głosu” stwierdził sarkastycznie Avi.
    On później zadał mi pytanie czy mam jakąś kontrabandę, lub broń, lub noże.
    „Powiedziałem, że nic takiego nie mam”
    „Wtedy on zażądał, żebym oddał pieniądze wchodzące będącej częścią nagrody jaką wygrałem. Powiedziałem mu, że pieniądze będą przesłane później na moje konto w banku”
    Wtedy jeden z agentów Szin Bet zażądał w ostrym tonie, żeby oddał wszystkie pieniądze jakie mam przy sobie. Oni nie wierzyli, że nie mam pieniędzy wchodzacych w skład nagrody przy sobie.
    Rozczarowany Avi, który trzymał w dłoni pistolet kazał mi zdjąć ubranie, co zrobiłem pozostają jedynie w bieliźnie. W tym samym czasie inny agent wymierzył M-16 w moją twarz.
    Zdejmuj bieliznę również- on mi powiedział. Zaprotestowałem że nie zrobię tego i zapytałem się czego chcą ode mnie.
    Wtedy on wspólnie z swoim kolegą na siłę zdjęli mi bieliznę pozostawiając mnie całkowicie nagiego.
    Po wymierzeniu pistoletu we mnie Avi kazał mi iść w prawo i po tem w lewo zanim powiedział mi, żeby ubrał się ponownie.
    W tym momencie załamałem się całkowicie. Czułem się jakby mnie ktoś zgwałcił, płakałem i błagałem ich, żeby dali mi spokój ale nic z tego.
    On mi powiedział to jest początek ty jeszcze niczego nie widziałeś i zaciągnęli mnie do innego pomieszczenia, gdzie oni przesłuchiwali mnie na temat mojego pobytu w Wielkiej Brytanii, Szwecji i Grecji.
    Oh nie pominąłeś żadnego miejsca w Europie bez przemówienia do…no wiesz do tych Europejczyków, oni nienawidzą Izraela.
    Później inny agent Szin Bet zaczął kopać mnie i pchać mnie. To trwało więcej niż dziesięć minut, po czym zemdlałem i straciłem przytomność. W końcu oni zaczęli ciągnąć mnie po podłodze podczas gdy moja głowa uderzała w nią raz po raz.
    Nie pamiętam zbyt wiele z tego co się działo ze mną w tym czasie ale pamiętam, że agent Szin Bet wbijał mi palec w moje powieki poniżej oczu a potem poniżej uszu. Także inny agent Szin Bet naciskał swoim olbrzymim butem na moją szyję, gdy leżałem nieprzytomny na ziemi.
    Myślałem, że umrę pozostawałem w stanie nieprzytomności więcej niż 90 minut dopóki lekarz który był uzbrojony w M-16 nie wykonał na mnie EKG.
    Wtedy usłyszałem jak ktoś mówił „ambulans”.
    Jednakże zanim palestyńska karetka z Jerycha dojechała agent Szin Bet podszedł do mnie i zażądał ode mnie podpisania się pod dokumentem mówiącym, że nie byłem torturowany przez Szin Bet.
    Byłem zbyt nieprzytomny żeby cokolwiek powiedzieć, lub podpisać
    W końcu zostałem zabrany do szpitala w Jerycho, gdzie lekarze powiedzieli mi, że wszystko jest ze mną w porządku.
    Muhammed Omer powiedział, że izraelska Szin Bet umieściła specjalne elektroniczne urządzenie w jego komórce, które ma zapewnić im wiedzę, gdzie on przebywa.
    On wezwał swoich kolegów na całym świecie, żeby potępili w najostrzejszych słowach „przestępcze i haniebne izraelskie zachowanie które bardziej przystoi przestępcom i zabójcom niż państwom a tym bardziej państwu które twierdzi że jest cywilizowane, zachodnie i demokratyczne”.
    Holenderskie MSZ zaprotestowało przeciw traumatycznemu traktowaniu jakie spotkało Muhammeda Omera i zażądało wyjaśnień.
    Podobnie holenderska ambasada w Izraelu zażądała wyjaśnień od izraelskiego ministerstwa spraw zagranicznych.
    Szin Bet główna izraelska wewnętrzna służba bezpieczeństwa Izraela kobntroluje wszystkie aspekty życia Palestyńczyków i jest w ogromnym stopniu odpowiedzialna za systematyczne naruszenia praw humanitarnych Palestyńczyków.

Leave a Reply

